Dear Shafe!

Dear Shafe,

This letter is to thank you for the beautiful friendship that I share with you. Year after year, our friendship blossoms, irrespective of the distance and the challenges we face in our lives. You have been there for me when I was being difficult, stubborn, rude, pig-headed and downright unfriendly. You straighten my head whenever it begins to shake. Thank you.

This letter should have been easy to write but it wasn’t. How do I begin to talk about someone who is one of the most amazing people I know? How do you begin to appreciate a friend in the truest sense of the word? A guy whose heart is big enough to chastise and comfort you, sometimes at the same? That’s who you are to me, Shafe. You are the personification of the words ‘open heart’.

Thank you for the wonderful person that you are. Thank you for being there. Thank you for giving me the confidence to wake you up from sleep at 2am or interrupt you in the middle of a hectic work day knowing that you would never turn me away. Thank you for re-defining friendship to me. Thanks for your listening ear and timely advice. Thanks for analyzing those confusing moments for me and letting me know that you’d never let me go through them alone. Thanks for standing by me and believing in me even when I didn’t believe in myself.

On the morning of your birthday, I prayed long and hard for you. Though this letter comes a bit late, its words are sincere. May your life be filled with as much happiness as your heart can hold. Happy birthday to the bestest friend in the world. I pray for strength and wisdom to be as good a friend as you have been to me. God bless you, Wasiu Adekunle Shafe!!!

Eseosa Princess Ogbeide.

 

8 thoughts on “Dear Shafe!

  1. Thank you Shafe, for who you are, who you’ll be, what you have done and what you’ll still do. Happy Birthday bro, may Gods blessings be with you

  2. I had stubbornly told myself i wont comment on this piece for several reasons. . . . . first is i wasnt expecting this (so ill-prepared) and secondly i just didnt know what to say. . . .cos i could write an epistle about what you’ve been to me in these years.

    This is one of the best gift i’ld ever get from a friend. to wake up to this on my birthday really touched my heart…..i’ve read it all over and still fought temptations not to comment but rather post it on my FB wall (the shakara i used my friend was just too much that tongues are still wagging)

    Thank you Eseosa for appreciating my friendship and the trust you repose in me. . . . but again, have you not just over praised me for those little things i did?
    well, i’l avoid writing my response here but i think you’ve just been my friend in a friend.

    Thanks dearie. . . . .those whose path have crossed yours would agree with me – you are a jewel amongst friends! MMUUAAHH!

Leave a Reply

