If you want to vote, start jogging!

I know I said I was off politics and won’t be talking about it for a while, but here I am again. On this rainy evening, all I can think of is how politics has turned into such a dangerous game. They say, it’s a dirty game. That’s the understatement of the decade! Dirty ke! In Nigeria, it’s the most dangerous game ever. For the people involved and their supporters.

In one of my previous articles, I said I wasn’t going to vote in the July 14 gubernatorial elections in Edo State because I didn’t think the major contenders were in it to serve the people but themselves but after the recent events in Benin city, that will not be the major reason for not fulfilling my civic duty. Infact, no one in my circle of family and friends will step out on that day to vote, if I have any say in the matter.

Its still 2 months to the election day and Edo state has been turned into a war zone. Assassinations, kidnappings, threats, protests and fear have become the order of the day. People are being killed left and right and typical of the security forces in the country, absolutely nothing is being done. Like seriously, are these security forces of ours able to catch rats in their own homes? Are they useful in any way???

When Olaitan Oyerinde, the principal private secretary of the Governor, Adams Oshiomhole was gruesomely murdered in his home by unknown gunmen (they are always unknown), Benin City went ballistic. I watched as the youths took to the streets in outrage from the security of my home the way Goodluck Jonathan gives speeches about fishing out Boko Haram from the security of Aso Rock without actually doing anything. People protested and screamed to the high heavens, the Governor gave ultimatums to the Police force, and so on.

I watched it all in fear. It scared the shit outta me. A few days before that, a youth leader had been killed and now this. Since the Oyerinde murder, there have been accusations and counter accusations and a lot of speeches. This is Nigeria! Wouldn’t you be surprised if no one gave speeches? Politics in Nigeria is based on how fast your press secretary can draft meaningless speeches. From the President to the Chairman of a local market, speeches are the most effective way of putting themselves on television so people know they still exist.

If the state is this hot, 2 months before the elections, what happens when the day actually comes? Edo state will go up in flames? I shudder to think of what will actually happen on that day. It is obvious that this has become a serious matter for the candidates and suffice to say that when elephants fight, it’s the grass that always suffers. Innocent lives will be lost. That is just the problem.

So come July 14th, I still maintain that I’m not going to vote. And like I said before, if you like, call the Police (those ones that can’t catch anything?). Infact I may not even be in town. Call me a hypocrite or a coward but if I have to die, let me die for something worth dying for. Not for another man’s greed and ambition while his sons are lounging abroad. Na me dem born to suffer?

But if you are voting on that day, please check your running ability!! I strongly suggest you start jogging now. Because your life may depend on how fast your legs can carry you. On that day, May the Good Lord protect you and guard you. May he give you the common sense and strength to run like a deer when the guns go off, Amen! Please do not try to be a hero. Run when you see people running. Nigeria needs you alive. Good luck!!!

24 thoughts on “If you want to vote, start jogging!

  1. Nice piece, deep thoughts and very true. My experience as an Electoral officer(NYSC) tells me this. Pls tell pple 2 get their Reebok, Adidas and Nike trainers, it might come in handy.

  2. Nicely said! One Can’t be blamed for not wanting to vote. In ur words: “Na me dem born to suffer?” God help us in this country, we’re ever sitting on a keg of gunpowder. Only those that are alert and can run can escape on the evil day. I’d end with a yoruba proverb: “Ogun asotele kii pa aro to ba gbon” simply means: “A word is enough for the wise.”

  3. Well crafted piece…if ‘our’ votes were to count after all the jogging, then there’d be at least some consolation from all the confusion and bloodshed brewing in the state

Leave a Reply

